A Huge Loss

As the entire world knows by now, we lost Luciano Pavarotti last night to cancer. Growing up, I stayed as far away from operatic music as I could. I thought it was all about women with viking hats and blonde braids and huge vibratos.

But then I heard the three tenors sing. I’m not sure when I first heard them, but I was hooked. Just thinking of the sounds they produced, gives me goosebumps. They made opera cool, they made it main-stream listening. They made beautiful music.

Pavarotti was always my favorite, and I’m not sure why. Maybe because he always seemed like the one you could sit down and talk to over a dinner. He just seemed so nice. I was also always impressed by him because it was obvious he was singing because he loved singing, not because he thrived on the fame.

His will be a great loss to our world, and to the world of music.

“Penso che uno vita per la musica sia una vita spese bena ed e a questo che mi sono dedicato.”

“I think a life in music is a life beautifully spent and this is what I have devoted my life to.”

Luciano Pavarotti 1935-2007

Leave a Reply

